Bram Stoker

Free Public Domain Books from the
Classic Literature Library

Part of our Irish Authors section.

Bram Stoker

Stoker, Bram (born Nov. 8, 1847, Dublin, Ire.
died April 20, 1912, London, Eng.
author of the popular horror tale Dracula.

Although an invalid in early childhood he could not stand or walk until he was seven , Stoker outgrew his weakness to become an outstanding athlete and football (soccer) player at the University of Dublin. After 10 years in the civil service at Dublin Castle, during which he was also an unpaid drama critic for the Dublin Mail, he made the acquaintance of his idol, the actor Sir Henry Irving, and from 1878 until Irving's death 27 years later, he acted as his manager, writing as many as 50 letters a day for him and accompanying him on his American tours.

Turning to fiction late in life, Stoker published The Snake's Pass in 1890, and in 1897 his masterpiece, Dracula, appeared. Written chiefly in the form of diaries and journals kept by the principal characters Jonathan Harker, who made the first contact with the vampire Count Dracula...

Continue reading Bram Stoker Biography.

Bram Stoker Books/Novels

The Primrose Path 1875
Under the Sunset 1882
The Snake's Pass 1890
The Watter's Mou' 1895
The Shoulder of Shasta 1895
Bram Stoker's Dracula 1897
Miss Betty 1898
The Mystery of the Sea 1902
The Jewel of Seven Stars 1904
The Man (The Gates of Life) 1905
Lady Athlyne 1908
The Lady of the Shroud 1909
The Lair of the White Worm (The Garden of Evil) 1911

Bram Stoker Short Stories

Under the Sunset

Under the Sunset 1811
The Rose Prince 1811
The Invisible Giant 1811
The Shadow Builder 1811
How 7 Went Mad 1811
Lies and Lilies 1811
The Castle of the King 1811
The Wondrous Child 1811


The Record of a Theatrical Touring Party

The Truth - or rather Accuracy - of these Stories may be accepted or not as the Reader pleases. They are given as Fiction.


The Occasion 1908
A Lesson in Pets 1908
Coggins's Property 1908
The Slim Syrens 1908
A New Departure in Art 1908
Mick the Devil 1908
In Fear of Death 1908
At Last 1908
Chin Music 1908
A Deputy Waiter 1908
Work'us 1908
A Corner in Dwarfs 1908
A Criminal Star 1908
A Star Trap 1908
A Moon-Light Effect 1908

Dracula's Guest 1914
Buried Treasures
The Chain of Destiny
The Crystal Cup
The Dualitists (The Death Doom of the Double Born)
The Fate of Fenella
In the Valley of the Shadow
The Man from Shorrox'
Midnight Tales
The Red Stockade
The Seer

Bram Stoker Non Fiction

The Duties of Clerks of Petty Sessions in Ireland 1879
A Glimpse of America 1886
Personal Reminiscences of Henry Irving 1906
Famous Impostors 1910

Free Books in the public domain from the Classic Literature Library ©

Bram Stoker
Classic Literature Library
Classic Authors
Edgar Allan Poe
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle